Posted on

2 Blog Posts I Thought About Making Today

what

what

Post-Post Feminism & Philology or Softcore Dictionary— Is shit like this really necessary?

books

Thomas Pynchon Stole My Awesome Fucking Idea — Why is Michael Chabon still so defensive about mixing elements of genre with literary fiction? Who is this imaginary snob army that still gives a fuck about this artificial divide, and why do pieces like this still have to be written? Is Inherent Vice to ~literary detective fiction~ as Kid A is to 90s IDM? Sure, a lot of people are busting nuts cause *omg new Thomas Pynchon*–he could put out a coloring book and the NYRB would write him a sober and thoughtful 30 page rim job–but the people salivating because of his *groundbreaking fusion of lush, serious writing with genre tropes* have had their heads up their asses for more than a decade. Lethem? Price? Atkinson? I don’t even like the guy, but for fuck’s sake Gaiman? If this stuff was ever cutting edge it sure as shit isn’t anymore, and these people have no excuse.

Aren’t you glad I didn’t make either of these blog posts today god who would have wanted to read that

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

Leave a Reply

