Posted on

Mid-Year Report

Holy shit is 2009 really half over? What a world. What a world.

half.

half.

-Continuous reading
I have a new friend who’s given me a stack of wonderful writing to work through. Some Chinese writers, American Splendor, and hopefully more once I finish those.

-Save 12% of each paycheck
Ongoing. Had to use all of my emergency money to get through the month of June, so I’m starting from zero again, but it’s better that I had the money.

-Track daily spending with a budget

-Daily Zazen
Still not daily. I’m renewing my commitment and adopting some new practices to get me excited about it again, and starting next week I’m gonna head down to the AZC on weeknights I’m available & Saturday mornings.

-Submit sundry stories, new and old, to at least 12 journals
I’ve fallen behind here as I haven’t submitted anywhere since I moved in May, but that’s OK. I’ve started and nearly finished three new stories, and once I’ve lived with them a little longer I’ll start submitting them along with the old stuff. These new things are good, I think. Yeah. They’re good.

-Participate in NaNoWriMo 2009
Still planning on it.

-Reduce car debt to below $3,400
Progress.

Begin substitute teaching
Austin ISD has officially called a hiring freeze for the 09-10 school year. Out of my hands.

-Graduate School

During my last quarterly review I made this big announcement that I’d be reapplying to grad schools this fall, and that no matter the result I’d be leaving Austin for somewhere new next Spring. I jumped up on an upturned crate and shouted to the four winds:

I’m 22! This is the time to make life changing decisions and move across the country and screw it all up and start all over and do it right the third time and come back home in shame or triumph depending on my work ethic and my luck and how much I drink, right? So let’s make it happen.

Since saying that I’ve learned a couple things. Namely–

  1. I don’t need to drink.
  2. I need to write every day.
  3. I need to meditate every day.

Provided I follow these three rules I might have even more success as I hurtle to the conclusion of 2009. Thus far it’s been the most unpredictable year of my life, and I look forward to finding out where it’s gonna go next.

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

Leave a Reply

