Posted on

with a quickness

I’ve gotten a bit behind here, so I’ma bring the abbreviated news:

-I’m nearly finished with David Lodge’s Thinks…, a novel about cognitive science and infidelity. When I’m done I’ll write a fuller review of it here, but for now suffice it to say that it keeps the Updikian (??) “unhappy college professors have affairs” mode alive while getting playfully modern with form.

-I still haven’t started packing for my move to the south side, but I should probably get on that.

-On 3 separate occassions this week 3 different people have expressed incredulity at how little I sleep. This makes me weirdly proud of my insomnia.

-Last week I went back to the slam for old times sake. I qualified for semifinals, which meant that I could have gone back this week to qualify for finals to compete for a spot on the team at finals next week. I briefly considered the whirlwind of fun it would have been to show up after 4 years and make the team again on a whim, but the practicalities of making it to weekly rehearsals (not to mention the cracks in my old poetry notebooks and decided paucity of new poetry notebooks) made me slow my roll and opt against.  Maybe next year, or maybe not. That was a whole different life, and it might be over now.

-I sat down at Magnolia Cafe the other night with my notebook and planned out the structure of this dystopian migrant worker detective novel that’s been bouncing around in my head since like November. It was good to finally put it on paper and have something solid to work from. Now if I can just get past page 12…

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

Leave a Reply

