Posted on

Records I’m Keeping: Scientist Rids the World…

shit is crazy

shit is crazy

So here’s the thing about Scientist, one of the best dub producers of all time: he knows how dub works. And you know how dub works. And he knows that you know how dub works, so he exploits it. He drops in a familiar bassline and lets it marinate just long enough to get your head nodding. Yes–a sweet line to hold me down

Then he turns it upside down. Then he turns it inside out. He’ll lay down the bass with a mellow feel and then pull the drums through a wormhole so they land on the track a half second out of step and just a little off-kilter. He fades soulful vocals in and out, the snare hits echo through a thousand empty warehouses, the guitar lines bubble up from the molten core of the earth, and the occasional horn lines are undeniable.

The dude did a half dozen goofy themed albums–Scientist Wins the World Cup, Scientist Meets the Space Invaders, Scientist & Prince Jammy’s Big Showdown, and more, all with awesome cartoon covers–but Scientist Rids the World of the Evil Curse of the Vampires is my favorite by several orders of magnitude. It’s the quintessential roots dub album, my favourite Halloween party album, and if you ever want my copy you’re gonna have to pry it out of my undead fingers.

Or you could watch this playlist on YouTube, where someone has helpfully compiled the entire album in running order. That’s what I’d recommend given that I’ve switched out the track to be posted here about 9 times. Fuck it–listen to em all!

P.S.–If you ever happen to spot a copy of Scientist Meets the Space Invaders lying around in the used bin, would you give me a ring? I know I’m supposed to be getting rid of records, but I could stand just one more, right?

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

Leave a Reply

