Posted on

Records for Sale

I have way more 45s than this fyi

I have way more 45s than this fyi

I put my records up for sale on Craigslist.

I’m keeping 10 of them alternately for sentimental or monetary reasons. Over the next couple days I’ll put up YouTubes of stuff from the 10 I’m keeping. Here’s the first one, an album track from the 13th Floor Elevators second record Easter Everywhere.

I probably don’t need to tell you anything about these dudes, but in case I do–they’re the Austin band that helped invent psych-rock, and they’re basically what I have in mind when I say that I love “any music with vitality.” From 8 minute acid bath dirges to raw garage rock they made their recordings sound like living things, like their instruments were constantly threatening to writhe out of their control and they had to keep playing or they’d just slither away.

❤ ❤

13th Floor Elevators – “I’ve Got Levitation”

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

Leave a Reply

