Posted on

more undeniable youtube classics

This is “4” from the Richard D. James album, which I listened to alone in my room with headphones for most of late 2005. The whole record is phenomenal, but there were lots of nights where I’d put this on repeat and fall asleep as it looped over and over. I built a story out of the tensions in the song, gave it a narrative it didn’t have, so that I could say it was about triumph over melancholy; I told myself it was about persistence. The song gets tighter, the snare hits come closer together and the center can’t hold any longer: everything falls apart.

There’s a moment of silence, and then a voice says “….yeah,” and it all starts again with renewed certainty.

That kinda sentiment never hurts. In my opinion anyway.

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

Leave a Reply

