Posted on

Two Sentence Tuesday

Apparently a lot of writers across the internets are doing this thing where they list two sentences they read this week and two sentences they wrote this week. Sounds like fun, and it’s one more relatively productive way to add content to this baby. As it stands I’m about a third of the way through Days of Obligation, Richard Rodriguez’s book of essays on Mexican American identity. Here are the last two sentences I read in the middle of this essay on the relationship between Tijuana and its cross-border cousin San Diego.

In San Diego people speak of “the border” as meaning a break, the end of us, the beginning of them. In Mexican Spanish the legality takes on distances, even pathos, as la frontera, meaning something less fixed, something more akin to the American “frontier.”

I’m hoping this book will help me think through some of my identity issues. I’m also hoping that this book, among others I’m reading in the near future, will inform the sci-fi border town thing I’m sporadically working on. Here are the last two sentences I wrote in that.

<!– @page { size: 8.5in 11in; margin: 0.79in } P { margin-bottom: 0.08in } –>

All I had time to see was the look of panic on his face before his sarape caught on the back wheel of the bike and yanked him backwards by the neck, throwing him off the bike and dragging him until the the bike tipped sideways and skidded to a stop. I swerved hard to miss his body and his chassis, then slowed and doubled back to find him.

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

One response to “Two Sentence Tuesday

  1. If you like the idea of Two Sentence Tuesday then stop by Women of Mystery and have them link you in. You’ll get more traffic that way.

Leave a Reply

