Posted on

Goals for 2009

how bout now, NOW is it the future?

how bout now, NOW is it the future?

In the style of last year’s big goals post, here are the projects that’ll be keeping me busy throughout 2009:

-Continuous reading
I’ve just made my Big List of Books to Read this year. I tried to make it a comfortable mix of genre, literary & non-fiction.  I tried to keep the fiction weighted towards the world-weary to keep the well of inspiration full of watery cynicism. If I read at a comfortable pace that list will be exhausted by mid-year and I’ll be soliciting recommendations.

-Save 12% of each paycheck
This morning I finally bit the bullet and set up automatic withdrawals to my ING Orange Account. The longer term goal here, barring any unforseen circumstances, is to have 3 months of current income saved. At this rate it’ll be done by January of 2011. At that point the same 12% will start going into a Roth IRA. I’m also hoping that by January 2011 the “12%” will constitute a much larger number.

-Track daily spending with a budget
I did this really really well for the first 6 weeks of 2008, then it all went to hell. Maybe if I make it a real live goal and publicly commit to it I’ve got a better shot at it.

-Daily Zazen
This way I can’t weasel out of it with “I’ll do it tomorrow.Still trying to decide if I want to buy a zafu (hooray Holiday money) or if I just want to go with the exercise ball, which I’ve found is comfortable and suitable in terms of posture and demanding body awareness.

-Submit sundry stories, new and old, to at least 12 journals
No less than one submission a month.

-Participate in NaNoWriMo 2009
I need to get the damn thing written, right?

-Reduce car debt to below $3,400
Now that I’ve done a little math I’ve set a debt goal that’s actually reachable given the interest I’m paying.

Begin substitute teaching
I’ve looked into this before and it’s worth a go, especially given what I want to do with my life.

EITHER

-Enter Graduate School
We hope. Acceptance/rejection letters start coming in February.

Provided all rejections:

-Begin working on my teaching certification
I’ll teach til the first contract runs out, then I’ll apply for grad school again. I’ll only be, what, 25? 26? That’s average MFA student age anyway.

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

Leave a Reply

