Posted on

we can all be something bigger

I went to your schools I did my detention
But the walls were so gray I couldn’t pay attention
I heard your Gospel it moved me to tears
But I couldn’t find the hate and I couldn’t find the fear
I met your Savior I knelt at His feet,
And He took my ten bucks and He went down the street
I tried to believe all the things that you said,
But my friends that aren’t dying are already dead.

Raise a toast to St. Joe Strummer
I think he might’ve been our only decent teacher
Getting older makes it harder to remember
We are our only saviors
We’re gonna build something this summer

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

Leave a Reply

