Posted on

6 Months In: Goal Check

Let’s do it again.

-Get English Degree
If all goes as planned I’ll be done by June of this year.
Well, it’s June now and I’m done in two weeks. One more class snuck up on me, but it’ll all be over soon enough. Then I’ll be official and magna cum laude.

-Zazen 3 times/week
3 times a week is a reasonable goal, I think.
Still no dice here. Schedule inconsistency is still an issue, as a result of “this one last class.”

-Continuous reading
Years ago a teacher told me “the best writers are always reading. Never stop reading literature.”
I’ve worked my way through three novels since the start of the year, I’m in the middle of the fourth, and I’ll hopefully have read at least twelve by the end of the year. I’ve got a nice backlog waiting for me.

-Reduce car debt to below $3,700
Self-explanatory.
Gettin there.

-Save $150/month
Need to build up an emergency fund.
The emergency fund has been nicely jump-started by the tax refund, the stimulus check, and gift money from graduation. I’ve got a high-yield account set up with ING Direct, and I’ll be setting up automatic monthly withdrawals later this week.

-Keep weight below 140
I haven’t weighed myself lately. I should do that.

-Submit 6 short stories for publication
Q: What do you call a writer who’s not trying to get his work published? A: A diarist.
I’ve gotten a bit behind, but I’m submitting 4 more pieces in the next couple weeks. On top of that, I’ve started a writing group to keep myself working.

New Goals (Altered or Brand New)

-Write a novel
I’m due. I’m (gonna be) done with school, I’ll have the time, and plenty of my contemporaries are already working on their second or third genre novels. Why the hell shouldn’t I start working on my first book?

-Submit Portfolios to various MFA Programs for entrance in Fall of 2009
Yes, grad school. I’ll have a separate post on this soon, but I’m looking at a couple nearby and a couple far flung.  I’m excited.

Outmoded Goals (Completed or Abandoned)

-Teach by 9/1/08
-Reduce CC debt to below $500

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

Leave a Reply

