Posted on

Belated Quarterly Goal Review

So this is about two weeks late, but I figure I’m do for a review of the goals I set for myself at the beginning of this year. What’s the use of making them public if I and everyone else have forgotten them by the end of the year? This is a reasonable point for a progress report too. Let’s dig in.

-Get English Degree
If all goes as planned I’ll be done by June of this year.
Ahead of schedule! I’m done in two weeks!

-Teach by 9/1/08
I can be teaching by this fall.
There’s been a slight change of plans here. I’m delaying teaching certification until after graduate school. Yes, I’m doing graduate school. Fall 09.

-Submit 6 short stories for publication
Q: What do you call a writer who’s not trying to get his work published? A: A diarist.
I’ve submitted 4 so far, and will be submitting two more in the next two weeks. Rejection file is growing! That’s OK though.

-Zazen 3 times/week
3 times a week is a reasonable goal, I think.
Still no dice here. Schedule inconsistency is still an issue, but in two weeks that should mostly be solved. Then all I have to do is do it.

-Continuous reading
Years ago a teacher told me “the best writers are always reading. Never stop reading literature.”
I’ve been working on the same (relatively short!) novel since February. Difficult to make the time. Soon!

-Reduce CC debt to below $500
-Reduce car debt to below $3,700

Self-explanatory.
Goal #1 is already met! I overshot pretty significantly on goal #2 because I forgot to take interest into account (duh). A more realistic goal is to reduce car debt to below $5,000. Goal adjusted appropriately.

-Save $150/month
Need to build up an emergency fund.
I haven’t done this, but I’m planning to use my tax refund, stimulus check, and a piece of freelance work to help jump-start my emergency fund.

-Keep weight below 140
Weight climbing, but still below 140.

Overall I’m happy with these results. There’s obviously some habit building and goal adjustment that needs to happen, but I’ve still got 9 months in which to do it and these are generally flexible. I’ll check back in with these signposts at the end of June.

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

Leave a Reply

