Posted on

conversation about social networking

me: btw i have joined the twitter

and man am i beating myself up about it
apotheosis of web 2.0 narcissism, here i come
7:46 PM iambilldoor: i signed up for an account when i read you signed up for it
but i haven’t messed with it yet
me: oh yeah i forget i announced it throughout the internetsphere
haha
7:47 PM i was talking to a friend the other day about how with all this social networking stuff, if everybody gets connected conversation will be hilariously extraneous
“hey dude did you hear that new mountain goats–“
“yeah man i saw it on your last.fm already”
7:48 PM “oh. i saw this cool article on the nytimes–“
“i know man you shared it on your google reader”
“did i tell you i got a cat”
“yeah you put the pics on flickr SHUT UP DUDE I KNOW EVERYTHING ALREADY”

13 minutes
8:02 PM iambilldoor: haha
8:03 PM i try to keep a little extra something set aside for actual conversations
me: comforting
8:04 PM iambilldoor: oh
case in point
8:05 PM there is a spider living in my bathroom
i just tell people about that
me: hahaha
iambilldoor: when i can think of nothing else to say
me: the spider is not going to friend you on facebook any time soon is what you are saying
iambilldoor: exactly
About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

One response to “conversation about social networking

  1. edo081 ⋅

    Hi there could anyone give me an explanation of the Definition of Danah Boyd and Nicole Ellison about Social Networking Sites?

    “We define social network sites as a webbased service that allow individuals to (1) construct a public or semi public profile within a bounded system, (2) articulate a list of other users with whom they share a connection, and (3) view and traverse their list of connections and those made by others within the system. The nature and nomenclature of these connections may vary from site to site ”

    Im form the netherlands and i dont know what a bounded system is or traverse. I need to translate it and explane it in my thesis… So if anyone could help it would be great!

    Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

