Posted on

most insightful exchange about the daily show in ages

Stewart sucks up to all the pols when they’re guests. The only person he’s slapped around in the last year (that I’ve seen) was Jonah Goldberg.– Dr Morbius, Monday, 3 March 2008 20:42 (Yesterday) Link

In Stewart’s defense, I can understand why he’d go soft on interviewing people he routinely ridicules on the show. He’s always emphasized that comedy is job one when people try to evaluate TDS as a news show, and it’d be pretty much impossible to cut through the bullshit and ask really tough questions, and still be able to turn it around a minute later and spin a joke out of an offhand comment. I think he’s more afraid of a tense 5 minutes on camera without a single laugh than offending or making an enemy out of an elected official.– Alex in Baltimore, Monday, 3 March 2008 21:03 (Yesterday) Link


^^^on point; its not like he feared making enemies of crossfire dudes– deej, Monday, 3 March 2008 21:17 (Yesterday) Link


it’s totally true, it just feels like such a missed opportunity– Tracer Hand, Tuesday, 4 March 2008 00:03 (19 minutes ago) Link


and that — as stewart is assiduous in pointing out — is an indictment of the national news media, not the daily show– Tracer Hand, Tuesday, 4 March 2008 00:04
About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

Leave a Reply

