Posted on

teo macero, r.i.p.

1926-2008

The greatest jazz producer of all time.

I’ll be playing In A Silent Way nice & loud tonight.

It really goes without saying, but in case you don’t know: Hank Shocklee, Timbaland & pretty much any big-name hip-hop/pop producer you can think of owes Teo a major debt of gratitude.

The NYT obit suggests that Teo wasn’t fond of Columbia’s huge box set reissues that took the work he did with Miles and presented it in its unedited, pre-Teo-cutup form. For my money the box sets go a long way towards proving how essential Teo’s work was in relation to the finished product.

Here’s what you need:

Let My Children Hear Music – Charles Mingus

A Tribute to Jack Johnson – Miles Davis

Teo Macero with the Prestige Jazz Quartet – Teo Macero

In A Silent Way – Miles Davis

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

Leave a Reply

