Posted on

why i dig for records

 Moments like this:

An old man owned the shop I was digging at and I had a decent relationship with the guy. He had a small store and too many records. You couldn’t even walk because there where records on the floor in stacks and shit. Usually I’d spend the whole day there and I noticed that he had a back room with more records. It was dark as a motherfucker back there and he had no electricity running to the back room.

One day he got distracted by some customers and I made my way back there. I couldn’t see shit, so I just grabbed a big ass stack and got out of there. He caught me and started scolding me like, “I said nobody can go back there!!!” I apologized and acted like I didn’t know. When I sifted through the stack I found an Incredible Bongo Band Bongo Rock sealed! The owner did all of his pricing visually at the last moment of purchase and when he rang me up; he only charged me two bucks. I felt like a champion that day man. I felt like I was meant to have that record. It was divine intervention.

Read the rest of dude’s profile here.

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

Leave a Reply

