Posted on

Goals for 2008


is it the future yet?

I’ve made lots of New Years Resolutions in the past. I haven’t done an especially good job of keeping them. I’ve resolved to start working out more often, to write more album reviews, and a host of other things I’ve forgotten about because I don’t do them.

So even though I’m not making any resolutions for 2008, I am setting some goals for myself. Call it a psychological trick if you want, but calling them “goals” makes me more likely to do something. It’s essentially a list of year-long projects, stuff I plan to spend the year working towards.

Conventional wisdom says that you’re more likely to strive for your goals if they’re shared publicly. So here, for all the world to see, is my list of Goals for the coming year:

-Get English Degree
If all goes as planned, I’ll complete my English degree by late June of this year.

-Teach by 9/1/08
To really get this ball rolling I need to get in touch with some family members who teach. They’ve promised to point me in the right direction as far as Alternative Certification goes, and they insist that I can be teaching by this fall.

-Submit 6 short stories for publication
Q: What do you call a writer who’s not trying to get his work published? A: A diarist.

-Zazen 3 times/week
With my inconsistent sleep schedule (6 am bus to class coupled with graveyard shift and swing shift), perhaps it was unrealistic of me to think I’m at a place in my life where I can do daily zazen. 3 times a week is a more reasonable goal, I think.

-Continuous reading
Years ago a teacher told me “the best writers are always reading. Never stop reading literature.” I need to keep up with that.

-Reduce CC debt to below $500
-Reduce car debt to below $3,700

Self-explanatory. The APR on that Visa is killing me, and I want to start 09 with as little debt as possible given that I’m going to start paying back student loans in January of 09.

-Save $150/month
Need to build up an emergency fund.

-Keep weight below 140
I’m nearing my mid-20s (!), the time when one traditionally starts packing on the pounds, and I’d rather avoid that.

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

2 responses to “Goals for 2008

  1. Pingback: Belated Quarterly Goal Review « never sleep

  2. Pingback: Goals for 2009 « never sleep

Leave a Reply

