Posted on

giuliani uses 9/11 to explain phone call

giuliani.jpg

I don’t really get shocked these days. I’m cynical enough that when a politician does something reprehensible, I just arch an eyebrow and blog snarkily. It’s rare that something gets to me.

But this actually had my jaw on my shoes.

Remember when Rudy took a phone call during a speech in front of the NRA last week?

He says he did it because of 9/11.

“And quite honestly, since Sept. 11, most of the time when we get on a plane, we talk to each other and just reaffirm the fact that we love each other,” he said.

“Sometimes if I’m in the middle of a very, very sensitive meeting, I don’t take the call right then; I wait. But I thought it would be kind of nice if I took it at that point, and I’d done that before in engagements, and I didn’t realize it would create any kind of controversy,” he said.

Pardon my French, but fuck this guy. Really. Fuck him.

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

One response to “giuliani uses 9/11 to explain phone call

Leave a Reply

