Posted on

sound of breaking heart

The tragedy in Burma continues. BuddhistChannel is doing regular updates as the crackdown against the monks & other dissidents intensifies.

2:00 p.m
Protesters in Rangoon have swelled to at least 50,000 and their shouts of “We will Succeed, We will Succeed,” reverberated in downtown Rangoon.

3:45 p.m
Demonstrator killed near Sule Pagoda. “Around 2:00 p.m. civilians and monks offered prayers in Sule Pagoda. While we were praying, three military trucks carrying soldiers arrived. First they fired in the air and then into the crowd. A bullet hit a man and killed him on the spot” one of the the participants told Mizzima

Two army vehicles coming from the direction of ‘Super One’ mall opened fire on onlookers and bystanders near the National Library in front of the Kyaikkasan field.

5:15 p.m
More people joining in Sule. “Now there are about 30,000 to 40,000 have gathered in Sule. We don’t know what will happen. At the moment, soldiers are shooting from above. The people are unhappy and are now gathering on the road. There are a lot of shootings, but we don’t know how many died. Members of NLD arrested across the country. It is really bad. And more people are joining the protest,” an eyewitness told Mizzima.

Here’s an overview if you’re not familiar with what’s going on there.

About Justin Jacoby Smith

I’m Justin Jacoby Smith. Some people call me “hoosteen.” I live just outside Washington, DC. I like punk rock & country songs. I’m a data monkey. I Occupy DC, because a better world is possible. I’m a cohost & contributor for Voices of the 99%. I’ve served on the editorial board of the DC Mic Check. I briefly developed digital strategy for The Parley. I write poems. Sometimes I get published. Dig it.

One response to “sound of breaking heart

  1. Gregor ⋅

    The recent developments have not been “good” I am encouraged to see that the peaceful protests continues. I think that this may be a long hard road, but with the world watching perhaps there is some room for hope.

Leave a Reply

